Home > current events, politics > Economics II

Economics II

“Decisions by the Secretary pursuant to the authority of this Act are non-reviewable and committed to agency discretion, and may not be reviewed by any court of law or any administrative agency.”–From the actual legislation.

I did some reading, a tiny bit of research, consulted the augeries, and as it turns out I was pretty much right about the cause of the current economic woes. Albeit I was right in the most general of terms. My specifics were off, but I’m not a Yale/Harvard/ND economist, it’s not actually my job to watch this economic shit. That’s my brother’s job…he’s an account advisor/investor/something like that (you have to sign the book to see him) so he’s a bit closer to having to do this sort of work than I am.

Anyway, I’m more interested in the politics and ethics of anything more than just the money. Although everyone needs money, that’s why they call it money.* Politically I’m getting kind of worried. Read the quote again from the top of the page. That’s from the actual legislation.

In my history reading I’m aware of the methodology of the Roman Republic appointing a dictator in times of dire emergency. The idea behind the office of the dictator was that he could make decisions without having to go through the silliness of Senate approval or the messiness of voting. Ideally, and as happened almost all of the time; the dictator would lay down his power at the end of his term (usually no more than six months–but sometimes they just stuck around). I understand this method of thinking.

When, say, a bunch of Gauls are knocking at your door brandishing their spears and saying, “new neighbors, hi, just wanted you to come outside and say hey;” having someone in office that can draw up an army and go to war is nice without all that messy debating. I wonder though if this emergency that we are having now is the same type of threat.

My mind tells me no, my heart…tells me pretty much the same fucking thing. We are giving the Secretary of the Treasury powers that are beyond reproach. This was the type of shit that Mulder feared about FEMA. If the legislation passes, it means that the Secretary can do whatever he wants with 1 trillion dollars, and no one can do shit about it EVER. He will be beyond the reach of the courts, unless someone sues him, he appeals to the legislation and then someone appeals to the Supreme Court to get them to decide that the legislation is unconstitutional. Before we make Henry Paulson the defacto dictator of our money maybe we should think about things and let all of those people who are losing all this money suffer the consequences that they themselves caused.

*Danny DeVito said it, I’m just not telling you which movie it came from.

Technorati Tags: ,

  1. September 23, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Sounds just like George Bush, doesn’t it. Good little gem of a catch.

    $700 Billion for Wall Street?
    It’s a rip-off!

    I just hope that Obama will be elected, and raise taxes on these thieves, so at least we will get some of our money back. Obama promises tax relief for the middle class, and to raise taxes for those making over $250,000 a year. Now if he added even higher taxes for the $1 million-plus crowd, then wouldn’t that be Karmic Justice?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

