Home > pop culture > Do We Need Another Star Trek?

Do We Need Another Star Trek?

Tomorrow, director du jour J.J. Abrams’s Star Trek is released in the hopes of reinvigorating the series after the cancellation of Star Trek: Enterprise. Being a fan of Science Fiction as a kid I naturally gravitated towards Star Trek since there was just more of it. Star Wars only had three movies, I had never seen Dr. Who, Battlestar Galactica didn’t make much sense to me, and that was pretty much it as far as mainstream media was concerned. Was I a trekkie? No, I just wasn’t militantly into it. I have seen nearly every episode of The Next Generation and the original, but I can’t quote them and I have no idea what the titles of some of the episodes are.

I also can’t name the numerous red shirts who beamed down to planet “whatever” to their deaths, nor do I understand the conversion from stardate to normal standard time (and there is a conversion). Not being a trekkie doesn’t make not a fan. Every once in awhile I’ll catch an episode on Sci Fi (I refuse to call it by its new name) and watch it through. But the question remains: is this movie really necessary?

Obviously, in the grand scheme of things it’s not. But, since the movie industry has given up on new ideas opting instead for stories and characters with already built in audiences I suppose that nothing beats the Star Trek universe. Trekkies were trekkies long before Star Wars geeks, and whatever else you call groups of people. One might say that Trekkies spawned the whole fan base idea (they would be wrong, but they could say that).

How long can we continue on with the saga of Kirk, Spock, et al? The universe of the series is so vast and imagined, that it would be quite possible to do a completely new story with entirely new characters in that universe. I want to see this movie, but on the other hand I don’t.

My long fear is that this movie will spawn sequels, and that those sequels will be forced to follow the law of Star Trek movies (all of the even numberred movies are good, the odd ones suck). Or they will just follow the law of the Summer Movie trilogies.

The first movie is good/tolerable (X-Men, Spiderman, Batman Begins, Pirates of the Carribean), the second kicks ass (X-Men United, Spiderman 2, The Dark Knight, and seriously 2 Fast 2 Furious or as I like to call it: GTA: Vice City 2), and third is so horrible that you begin to wonder why you even got started in the first place (X-Men 3: The Sucking, Spiderman 3: Emo-Douchebags, Pirates 3: My God When Does it End?, and looking forward Batman 3: Robin had to show up eventually).

Shouldn’t we just let the series end? Or is this going to be thr Sci-Fi version of the Rolling Stones: it’ll be bad but people will go for the legacy factor anyway.

I’ve been delightfully able to stay away from the plot thus far which makes me happy. The only information I have is that Leonard Nimoy is in the movie, which means that some time travel aspect is involved. The only thing I hope to see in this movie is how Kirk beat the “Kobayashi Maru Test.” That would definitely be worth my ten bucks. Technorati Tags:

Categories: pop culture Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

