Home > religion > Words and Deeds

Words and Deeds

Quick update: last week’s post was featured on a website located in Denmark!

It’ll be slightly important to know that entry because this entry is directly related to it. Whenever I post a new entry I also double post it on both my facebook news feed and also on my Twitter. It’s just self promotion and I’m trying to get as many readers as possible in the most economical way. This sometimes gets my posts comments to which I respond on the media that they were posted in. However sometimes the comment is somewhat poignant and I address it in the following week’s post.

In response to last week one person posted two comments which I’m going to repeat verbatim (I’m withholding his name because I’m not a monster); comment 1: Why so angry? Comment 2: Should a Christian think an atheist is a jerk until the atheist subscribed to a Christian world view?

Dealing with these comments in order I reply that I’m not angry. I’m not angry at the Pope, I’m disappointed which is a weird feeling to have for a guy that doesn’t consider him to be of any importance in my daily life. That should have been apparent. The Synod concerning the Catholic view of the family, divorce, premarital relationships, and LBGT issues is currently under way. Of the many attendees that are going to present to discuss what the view all Catholics are supposed to share on the family, no women are allowed to participate. A group of women is allowed to audit the session, but not allowed to contribute. I’m aware that this Synod is a gathering of Bishops, that there are no women Bishops (because they aren’t allowed to even begin the step toward becoming one); but there are still Nuns. And sure, Nuns can’t have families but that only means that they could contribute exactly the same relevant information as the men.

Let us not forget either that this inclusive, inviting Pope has just recently fired a priest for coming out as gay. In the interest of fairness I’ve read several news articles on this subject and they don’t seem to agree whether he was fired before or after he made the public announcement. The official story is that he is violating his vow of celibacy, which is, of course a big deal in being a priest. It’s a terminable offense, I get it. However, since the church doesn’t fire priests who have broken their vow of celibacy with children it’s quite contradictory to nail the one and then shuffle the others. This is where my disappointment comes in.

My anger though, is not at the Pope or the millions of Catholics who adore him, it’s at the Atheists who think he’s something different. Again, I hoped that was clear from the post. A commentator on this site mentioned that at least with the last guy we knew what we were getting. That Benedict didn’t do anything about the ongoing child abuse problem wasn’t upsetting because he was in charge of debacle under the John Paul II in other words–we didn’t have an expectation that things were going to change. The same with every other issue that I raised last week: Benedict wasn’t talking about changing things so when the status quo continued it didn’t really matter. When Atheists talk about the new guy like he’s a breath of fresh air, they should consider their phrasing because it’s all air. Expecting him to do something about those words was one thing that I even bought into, but there’s a statute of limitations on how long we should like a person if all they are doing is talking. As I pointed out last week: he can make changes with a pen, and he’s yet to sit down and do so.

Comment 2 is a little different. I get what my friend is saying. He’s saying that I shouldn’t judge the Pope by expectations of what I, as an Atheist, would want. That’s understandable. It’s unreasonable of me say that Pope Francis is a jerk until he admits that Jesus wasn’t a real person, that the Bible is a whole fiction, and that the Sacraments are just mythological rites with no reality backing them up. It would be just as bad to call a Buddhist a jerk until they denied reincarnation or a Muslim until they denied that Muhammad ever talked to an angel.

That’s not what I was doing. I haven’t asked the Pope to stop believing in Catholicism. What I was asking is that he back up some of the words with deeds. I’ve mentioned many times before and even last week, I was raised Catholic so I know many things about the religion and I’m not judging him by it…at least not last week I wasn’t. Merely pointing out the vast gulf between words and deeds isn’t questioning his religion or identity: it’s questioning his integrity.  If he’s not going to make the changes, then why even tease the possibility? It’s disingenuous.

There’s the possibility that each of those comments is a testing of the waters. He’s seeing how the hoi polloi are going to react. If that’s the case then, well, that’s pretty inane since we have a pretty good idea how the crowd is going to react to something as inconsequential as claiming that even an Atheist can be saved provided they are decent people: the old conservatives are going to hate it while the younger Catholics are going to nod along happy that some of their friends are going to avoid Hell.

For the final time: I’m not mad at the Pope, I’m just disappointed. This is a guy that everyone tells me is going to change things and bring the Vatican into the 21st century. Those people are constantly annoyed because I keep waiting for proof of anything. In the end though I suppose my disagreement about this guy is just a metaphor for my disagreement with religion. If mere words without evidence or argument are all this guy is offering I’m going to have to be an Atheist about him too.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. October 13, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Leave a Reply

